Our history

The Chlösterli - legendary since ever.

In the two centuries of its existence, the Chlösterli has experienced many things. At the beginning of the 19th century, it served as a bakery and grocery shop, then later as a residential house and inn, and even as a home. 

 

Despite all the changes and changes of ownership, one thing has always remained the same:

the dance floor with its famous dance evenings.

 

Where Liz Taylor and Roger Moore used to spend their sleepy sunsets.

From the second half of the 20th century at the latest, the Gstaad Chalet made a name for itself worldwide with its restaurant and dancing. Famous names like Roger Moore, Liz Taylor, 

David Niven, Günter Netzer and Robert Wagner have already been our guests.

Klösterli.jpg

Our hosts

Our motivated chefs and service staff are the heart of the Chlösterli Gstaad. They prepare, reinterpret and serve exceptional dishes with the highest quality and creativity. We stand for a well-functioning team to make every guest happy at the Chlösterli.

Portrait Martin Bieri_crop_edited.jpg

Martin Bieri

Martin Bieri laid the foundation for his culinary career during his apprenticeship years in Emmental and his years of travelling in establishments with typical French cuisine. He became already a chef at the age of 25 and created his own menu for the opening of a 4-star hotel. After that, he was to be found in the kitchens of many renowned addresses - at the Schweizerhof Bern, the Guarda Val in Lenzerheide or the Eggli mountain restaurant on Gstaad's local mountain, to name just a few. Most recently, he cooked at the Golf Club Gstaad, where his legendary Wienerschnitzel, delicious liver from the Gsteiger pig or the perfectly roasted Swiss poussins with sage butter were among the dishes on the menu.

 

In his innovative cuisine, Martin Bieri combines traditional, authentic dishes with a touch of exotic ingredients from Asia. And yet every guest should find a piece of home in his dishes. The commitment and passion of the Emmental-born chef were most recently rewarded with 16 Gault Millau points and a Guide Michelin star at Guardaval.

"My dishes are well-balanced and yet provide a certain element of surprise."

Unsere Geschichte

Das Chlösterli– legendär seit eh und je.

Das Chlösterli– legendär seit eh und je.

In den zwei Jahrhunderten seines Bestehens hat das Chlösterli vieles schon erlebt. Zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhundert diente es als Bäckerei und Kramladen, später dann als Wohnhaus und Wirtschaft, zumal auch als Heim. 

 

Bei all dem Wandel und Besitzerwechsel blieb eines jedoch immer bestehen: der Tanzsaal mit seinen sagenhaften Tanzabenden.

Wo Liz Taylor und Roger Moore sich Gute Nacht sagten.

Spätestens ab der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts machte sich das Gstaader Chalet mit seinem Restaurant und Dancing weltweit einen Namen. Berühmte Namen wie Roger Moore, Liz Taylor, 
David Niven, Günter Netzer und Robert Wagner waren bereits bei uns zu Gast. 

Klösterli.jpg

Unsere Gastgeber:innen

Das Herz des Chlösterli Gstaad sind unsere motivierten Köche:innen und Servicemitarbeitende, die mit höchster Qualität und Kreativität aussergewöhnliche Gerichte zubereiten, neuinterpretieren und servieren. Wir stehen für ein gut funktionierendes Team, um jeden Gast im Chlösterli glücklich zu machen.

Portrait Martin Bieri_crop_edited.jpg

Martin Bieri

Die Basis für seinen kulinarischen Werdegang legte Martin Bieri während seiner Lehrjahre im Emmental und seiner Wanderjahre in Betrieben mit französischer Küche. Bereits mit 25 Jahren war er zum ersten Mal Küchenchef und gestaltete seine eigene Menükarte für die Eröffnung eines 4-Sterne-Hotels. Danach war er an vielen namhaften Adressen in der Küche anzutreffen – im Schweizerhof Bern, im Guarda Val in Lenzerheide oder im Bergrestaurant Eggli auf dem Gstaader Hausberg, um nur einige davon zu nennen. Zuletzt kochte er im Golfclub Gstaad, wo unter anderem sein legendäres Wienerschnitzel, leckere Leber vom Gsteiger Schwein oder das perfekt gebratene Schweizer Stubenküken mit Salbei-Butter auf der Karte zu finden waren.

 

In seiner innovativen Küche verbindet Sternekoch Martin Bieri traditionelle, authentische Gerichte mit einem Hauch exotischer Zutaten aus dem asiatischen Raum. Und dennoch soll jeder Gast ein Stück Heimat und Erinnerung in seinen Gerichten finden. Das Engagement und die Leidenschaft des gebürtigen Emmentalers wurden bis heute mit 16 Gault-Millau-Punkten und einem Guide-Michelin-Stern ausgezeichnet.